Gold leaf

This morning, my beautiful fiancée was on an early early shift. I dragged myself out of bed and was wandering up the hill in the thick mist at 7am. Too early for that sort of nonsense really, but the almost invisible dogs seemed to enjoy their wander.
I trundled off to change a set of taps, then dropped in to Keith's to see what I could do with his kitchen tap - not a lot really, it needs a new one.
After lunch the woofers poked and pawed me until I took them out for their afternoon walk. Sigyn the Inquisitive managed to put up a rabbit, and she and Taliskularis the Big spent a while crashing through the undergrowth trying to turn it into lunch. The rabbit escaped unharmed.
The rest of the wander in the mist was uneventful, the dogs chasing after each other and keeping me entertained.
This gold leaf caught my attention as we wandered through the woods. It is just lying tattered and forgotten by the side of the path. I guess that we shall soon see some other gilded dreams forgotten and discarded after the big vote.
It may come as a bit of a surprise that I chose not to post a referendum pic of some kind, despite my name being Porridge Wog. I am totally jaded with it all, and am looking forward to the signs, banners, posters and other political pamphlets disappearing like autumnal leaves in the wind...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.