winchwench

By winchwench

Derelict Thursday - Where I Was Born

My entry for this week's " Derelict Thursday" is a shot of the hospital building where I was born. The local NHS Hospital Trust want to knock it down. It was originally built to serve the local community with funds donated by one of the local landed gentry. More recently, a lot of the services have been moved to other, larger hospitals some distance away - gaining economic and clinical benefits, but at the cost of ease of access and the sense of ownership and loyalty for the local population. However, some wards and services still remain in the newer parts of the site which makes us far luckier than some other areas of the country who have lost their local hospitals altogether.

I am off on a short holiday and so will not be posting anything for a few days, but I am taking my camera with me and so I expect to be furiously back blipping on my return!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.