Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Rydal Cottage

Ten years ago I was with my good friend Carol and we were leaning on a rustic country gate looking at a huge parcel of virtually undeveloped land in a quaint little village called Rydal. My friend ended up buying the property and it was just wonderful to visit her today.

Her property is now a major part of the Rydal Daffodil Festival which is held over two weekends in September every year. Ten years on the property is unrecognisable. It is just a mass of daffodils and other wonderfully exotic spring plants. This is just one tiny section of the garden but I think it sums up the feeling you have when you visit.

My friend totally restored the historic cottage which had been built on one corner of the block and today it is a very popular holiday destination for people wanting to escape the "Big Smoke" to share in a piece of paradise for a few days.

I would definitely encourage you to view the LARGE VERSION of the image - you can almost smell the country air!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.