Wet

Dog walking in the park. The grass is soaking. My shoes haven't dried out from yesterday so I've finally done the sensible thing and got wellies on.

So the referendum is over. The gap was much wider than I'd expected, and looking at the breakdown by council, 'No' won in almost every single area. It's pretty emphatic. Leaving aside the claims and counter-claims, the big winner here was democracy - the highest voter turnout in my lifetime, and people discussing the issues on every street corner. I wish people took as much interest in the general election!

As a cynic I can't help wondering how long it'll before the vague promises of more powers for Scotland are tied up in backbencher motions, watered down, delayed by the machinery of government and fizzle out. There's so many ways to kill a good idea. I hope I'm wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.