Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

"Still in this place"

Rouken Glen on Glasgow's South Side was of huge importance to my Dad when he was a boy, a young man going to and coming back from war, a young Dad with his daughter, an older man with fond memories. This is the place where I most feel his presence; still, fifteen years after his escape.

When those memories first became difficult for him to hold on to, of importance to me was Alzheimer Scotland Action on Dementia. Their helpline helped me work out how to support my Mum towards accepting what was happening. They are my favourite charity and have accomplished so much.

When one of their Memory Walks was planned for Rouken Glen I knew I had to take part; and send a donation instead of sponsorship. Every penny helps

I have photos of our T-shirts and walkers elsewhere, but this shows how lovely this one part of the park is. Can you see the shadow of a wee boy running behind the trees?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.