Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tongues!

While I may have led you to believe that Archie is a perfect wee pooch, he does have one (relatively) bad habit - he pulls on the lead, especially on the way to the Meadows. Now, a wee chap like him isn't too much of a bother, but I want him to be able to walk nicely. And so, over my porridge this morning, I re-visited some YouTube videos to remind me of the tricks of the trade.

I rang Uncle A to say that we'd pop down and visit him - Archie hasn't been there yet. And it was a different direction. A 10 minute walk turned into half an hour - I kept stopping, making him wait, turning round and going back - we must have walked twice as far.

He did sort of get the hang of it, but this lead training will be on-going. It's something I kind of ignored, but don't want to leave it any longer.

He was very good at Uncle A's, though a bit fidgety. When we finally left, he skipped down the stairs with little 'yips' of delight, which got louder and louder so that by the bottom of two flights, he was barking loudly and disturbing everyone.

Took the bus to the far end of the Meadows, where he had a lovely walk gallop to and fro. He followed a wee poodle really far away, and I whistled. He can never quite see where I am and often initially runs in the wrong direction, so my flapping arms may look silly, but they're a good signal for him.

He had a good play with Buddy a wee cairn terrier, and then we met Taylor, his favourite wee girlfriend. They do lots of just rolling around on top of each other, not the usual doggy rough and tumble. So sweet.

I was fascinated to see that Taylor's tongue is huge compared to Archie's dainty wee one. Yet her mouth is so tiny. How does it fit in?

Archie and I have just mowed (mown?) the lawn. He wasn't much help. But he wasn't a hinderance either. He just busied himself running round keeping out of the way of the noisy mower.

Zoo day tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.