the day

back blip: the day we've been working towards all year, many for far more. the stall was weird, we were all edgy. then we all met alex salmond outside newmachar polling station...like him or loathe him, he was so friendly and beth was utterly delighted to meet him. her knowledge and interest in politics is pretty good for her age, so this was a bit of a moment for her. all of us actually considering the date.

back to shieldon for curry with the family, then bee and I went off to the shire count while gillian headed to the city one. having never been at a count before, never mind a referendum agent, I was nervous, but watching the counting etc was pretty straight forward. loads of familiar faces, welcome and not so welcome. the four folk on the table I was at were fine apart from one complete arse of a man who was bigoted, unionist and in favour of trident. which was tricky...having spoken to many bigoted folk this year, I wasn't in the mood for him, especially at 4am.

we always knew aberdeenshire was going to be a crap area for yes...too many comfortable folk, but when the results came in gradually we were devastated. it was bizarre watching labour and tory folk hugging and celebrating together, something they might regret soon I wonder? over privileged folk jumping around with union jacks celebrating their careers remaining intact in the name of things being 'better' isn't a sight I enjoy watching to be honest. they might see it differently, but hey, this is my journal not theirs.

left aecc at 6am. gutted and knackered.

note: this is my record of my day - quite a big day. I don't want any snippy comments...if I could find the button to disable comments for this one I would.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.