ncpinkerton

By ncpinkerton

Moving on

When my husband and I decided to get married nearly 10 years ago we had to chose between living in my home country Canada, and my husband's home country Scotland. Though we both love the two countries but it made more sense to live in Scotland for various reasons. Scotland as part of the UK offers so many more benefits for it's citizens then Canada does. In Canada, people have to pay full price for prescriptions as opposed to the subsidized price paid in the UK. I know people is Canada who struggle to pay for their prescriptions as they can cost 100's of dollars. No country is perfect and improvements are always worth pursuing, but I have always counted myself lucky to live in this country. I feel a growing division between people within Scotland and the UK as a result of the referendum. This is the first time I have felt dismayed by living within this society, not because of the result of the referendum, but because of the reaction of various groups. I believe that everyone who voted in the referendum do so because they wanted what they felt was best for Scotland. This is a time to unit not divide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.