trekmum

By trekmum

Russian orthodox wedding

I walked to the Russian Cathedral in Nice today only to get two surprises. Firstly, it was covered in scaffolding and plastic sheeting as it is undergoing major restoration and, secondly, there was a wedding ceremony being performed in the grounds.
Apart from myself, there was only the woman from the 'shop' who seemed to be the official photographer, and one other tourist who appeared towards the end.
I stood and listened to the whole ceremony which involved candles, crowns, a symbolic drink, a walk around the 'altar' and kissing an ornate bible and cross. I found the whole ceremony quite moving.
Afterwards I spoke to the bride and groom - who were from Germany. They were pleased I had taken some photos and asked me to send them to them. Lovely to share their special day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.