What struck my fancy

By TonyLuxton

Curious

This is the "Outer Trial Bank" an artificial island built in the 1970s to test the notion of capturing fresh water that flows from nearby rivers into the Wash. As you see the tide is out.

Read more HERE and also see an aerial view of this "doughnut".

This area where I stood is a military test area, fighter aircraft and helicopters are often to be seen (and heard - like a pneumatic drill) firing their canon at big red targets. So if I ever did have a quadricopter to take photos from up above I doubt I would escape the attention of the military authorities for long here!!

This area of Lincolnshire is very flat, across the water you can see the higher ground where I take most of my photos on the Norfolk coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.