Views of my world

By rosamund

Culture

Karen and I declared today to be culture Friday as it was a previous day off but our children were at school. We started with breakfast in Flava then got the train to Glasgow, we headed out to the west end and enjoyed a brilliant morning in the Hunterian Art Gallery. I have been many times but it was Karen's first visit, as with all art galleries though I experienced something new as I was blown away by a painting called Pink Cloud, Red Pole by Duncan Shanks. I caught a glimpse of it through the archway and I was tugging Karen's sleeve like an impatient child to come and see. Something about the movement and the colours just captivated me and I could have looked at it all day. It was exciting to discover later that the artist had been my dad's tutor at GSA! I've since looked him up and already I'm a huge fan and really excited for next year when there will be an exhibition devoted to his work at the Hunterian. I watched an old documentary with him in YouTube and I was fascinated that his creative process, like mine, starts in nature. The landscape where he lives is what motivates him and inspires most of his work although his still life's are breathtaking too!
After the gallery we toured the Mackintosh house before heading for lunch in Brel on Ashton Lane, next stop was TGI Friday's for some heavenly cocktails. Culture Friday is my new favourite thing and I can't wait to do it again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.