fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Mo'ne Davis

She could be the first professional major league female baseball player of the future....could be. It may not be her dream....but she has played in the in the little leagues here---18th female to play little league hard ball on a team.. She has pitched a shut out. She's a bonafide star and has been on the cover of Sports Illustrated--which is my blip today. Mo'ne Davis I bought a copy of it on E-bay to have.

This is very personal to me yes! I played baseball--softball and hard ball with my brothers and neighbors as a little girl....I could hit and pitch better than the boys in grade school and loved the sport. My Dad took me to my first major league baseball game to see the Cleveland Indians. It took me awhile to realize I wouldn't ever be playing for the Cleveland Indians.....rather a broken dream to learn girls weren't allowed to play little league hard ball or in the minor leagues much less the major leagues. Altho I continued to play ball in the back yard there were no teams for young girls back in my day. No local softball ones either and the high school team was iffy---I played catcher for a couple games and then that all fell apart. It was discouraging back then.

But now I see rekindled hope for the near future for women who love and play baseall. Girls like Mo'ne Davis are paving the way ....here's to wishing her the best and keeping the dream of playing in the Majors alive for young women with a passion to play!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.