horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

One last spin

There's just time for one last walk, circumnavigating the Acropolis from our hotel, before jumping into a taxi back to the UK. It's one of those surreal moments of travel. Starting the day in heat that's going to climb to 30 degrees, looking onto one of the most historic sites in the world; then in the afternoon we'll be sat in our house in a suburb of Edinburgh (granted with Arthur's Seat in view) pondering if the grass will be dry enough the next day to cut (it was).

Saying goodbye to the cats (I have a shot of street cats form every single day of the trip...); and the city which has entertained us at the end of a trip on which Greece as a whole has given memories and enjoyment. The Peloponnese are stunning, the people wonderful, the towns and villages and sites fantastic, and life quite simply relaxed.

I need to learn more of the language for a return (we're starting to get reasonably good at Greek road signs by the end), with my 'efcaristo' working well, but needed expansion. At least I seem to have completely and utterly nailed 'yassas' - despite not looking Greek in the slightest the two times I use it in the airport the recipient then natters away quickly back to me in Greek (which naturally I haven't a clue about). My tactic of listening to pronunciation of waiters and hotel staff and people in shops, and basically just copying how they say things (and not worrying about sounding like you're putting an accent on - something I learned long ago made my French easier to understand, and where my nationality isn't always easily discernible for the listener) has paid dividends. Time to up the odds with some more vocabulary.

Thank you Greece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.