Holiday Reading

Today I put back on the bookshelf two very contrasting books which were my holiday reading. The History of Our Streets was a television series exploring the social history of streets as experienced by the people who have lived in them, first in London, then in Scotland (Edinburgh, Glasgow and Aberdeen). I missed the first series so decided to read the book. I feel I now want to visit the places covered to see them for myself! The second book charted a year in the life of a young Scottish doctor who went to live at the British Research Station - Halley - in Antarctica. He concludes that you need to be industrious, emotionally stable and sociable to survive there - especially in the dark winter when the sun doesn't appear at all for months and when the temperature can reach minus 50 degrees! Brrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.