Cigs

By Cigs

Cathedral Lane

Like Damien Hirst and Andy Goldsworthy and others, I don't actually do this myself; I have Cigs photographers and Cigs spotters out there, scouring Edinburgh for the necessary shots to post here.

The other morning I awoke to an inbox of photos from 'William' who had been cruising the mean streets of Marchmont crossing off streets and lanes and alleys and paths up there that he had been given to search, showing me his finds of the day. (Mostly in yellow, daubed with a paintbrush, on pillar boxes).

And Friday morning, one of my staff called me to enquire about any sightings on Cathedral Lane that may have been already posted. Their description was good enough to send me there today. After picking up the weekly supplies of freshly ground coffee, gorgonzola, prosciutto and prosecco from Valvona and Crolla, I got the driver to run us across the road to snap these. I had the boys who were between rugby practice and their party at Archie's later in the afternoon, so as I was taking photos, the young louts proceeded to attempt a break in of St Mary's.

Black spray paint, block capitals, double underlined, undated. There's a Winston one just above the Cigs dated '14, but the Cigs looks more 12/13 vintage?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.