Peeping

Charlii found another sick baby hedgehog this morning, so Arran, Ethan, Willow and I took him to the animal sanctaury we took the hedgehog to last year! Poor little soul has pneumonia, so it is a case of waiting to see if he will pull through, but I know he is getting the best possible care.
While we were there, the owners kindly let me take a few shots of some of the wildlife they are nursing back to health at the moment....I was really taken by the tiny baby hedgehogs, and the nest of baby squirrels but for today my blip just had to be the stunning Green woodpecker recovering from a car accident.
He was peeping at me through the wire, such a beautiful bird, one of my all time favourites, in his green and red finery.
I am sure he will be ready for release very soon.
The Green woodpecker (Picus viridis) is the largest of the 3 woodpeckers found in the UK. They are green on the back with a paler belly, bright yellow rump and a red top to the head, in males the 'moustache' has a red centre (I am guessing this one is male) They have a loud 'laughing' call, and feed mainly on ants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.