Medical equipment from WW1

This weekend there has been an exhibition in Thaxted Guildhall commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Great War. It was presented by the Rifles Living History Society and consisted of a number of displays. The room containing all the medical equipment was of greatest interest to me and I spent ages talking to the "doctor" & "nurse" about the things I recognised and had used in the 1960’s and 70’s.

It is good to see that all this equipment being kept with all the relevant information, also pictures illustrating the role of women in WW1. A first for me today was to hold a Smith & Weston revolver. I had never held a gun, not even to shoot at targets at a fun fair. I was surprised how heavy it was and I needed two hands to fire it! A first and last time.

Extra pictures in FlickR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.