Ode To The Water

October has arrived and I feel somewhat unready for it. Its been a beautiful few days, sunny and mild, with the leaves just starting to turn colour. I pass this gate, shaped like a boat, most days - it leads from a garden on to the side of the canal and I just love it. To me it reflects the strong bond that local people have for the water and the life around it.

A busy day making a presentation to a workshop and collecting my bike from having a service. At 20 years old my bike is a super-star. It passed its service with flying colours despite being made to clatter over Edinburgh's cobbled and potholed streets each day. I never imagined when I spent my summer holiday earnings on it as a first year university study that I'd be using it 20 years later to travel to and from work each day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.