See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Gerroff My Land

As I was feeling a little better I decided to go for a short walk along the lanes with a circuit across the fields that I often do. As I walked along the bridleway the farmer was busy in the field (just to the right of this picture) on his tractor and his dogs in the car were getting really agitated at my approach so the farmer stopped what he was doing, got off the tractor and came to the car to quieten the dogs as I walked past. I went on my way past the next field where another tractor was working, I turned right at the end of the field to walk round the edge as usual and the second farmer stopped what he was doing got off the tractor and told me I wasn't allowed to walk on that bit ( he didn't actually say "gerroff my land" but that was the tone he spoke to me in), I was to continue straight on and as far as I could see that went on for miles. I didn't know what to do - I didn't want to walk for miles but I didn't want to upset the dogs again. I tried to walk further along and across the next field but I got spotted again so in the end I turned tail, hurried past the dogs and came home. It wasn't the pleasant experience that it usually is and I felt it was a bit unnecessary as I wasn't doing any harm. I realise that the land belongs to them and I respect that but it seems that I daren't take my usual route as I've now been told, so I just hope I can find another one for next time :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.