jojobunny

By jojobunny

Beach Sculptures

On Rye Beach, there is a section of the rocky beach, that is scattered with dozens of amazing sculptures made from stones and rocks. Teetering on each other, the rocks are carefully placed in such a way that they do not fall over.
I don't know if there is a name for these, but it is so impressive. I read there is one artist who creates the majority of them, but there are also random people making them.
While I was there today, I met a woman who just completed her little rock sculpture. She told me her son had passed away, and she did it for him.
I don't know if the tide comes in and washes them all away, or they are able to withstand the elements for a while. But, for today, it was a very wonderful sight to see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.