The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

DIY SOS

Mrs W and I were at Ikea earlier in the day and bought a couple of chairs to go in the summer house. The girls went out for some girlie time after school so that left me and Alex for some boy time. What to do though?

Well it was obvious to me that I may as well put the chairs together and, conscious that I am not allowed to lift anything heavy, I was very good and emptied the first box where it had been left by Mrs W and took the individual bits out in lighter loads.

At some point, Alex realised what I was doing and came to the rescue and “Dad, you shouldn’t be lifting that!” became his mantra. Far from being a nag, he was genuinely concerned and set about putting the chairs together on my behalf. Okay, he would have struggled without me there but I jest not, this seven year old boy followed the Ikea instructions and put together two Poang chair with minimal input from me other than to hold things steady for him and to check that he had tightened screws adequately.

One very proud dad treated this little star to Chinese Takeaway for the boys’ tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.