grewst3r

By grewst3r

Meg

There have been two Megs in my life.

This one founded the night shelter and is the main reason I help out. She was a large and lovely lady who could immediately bring calm to chaos by being completely unflappable. I admired her a lot.

I have seen her give drunkenly aggressive, 6'4", fully tattooed rough sleepers a 'good talking to' in her Bristolian lilt. Her style was completely disarming and she earnt a huge amount of respect from the visitors and helpers alike.

Meg died two years ago now. I found this press cutting in the office as I was leaving tonight which made me think of her.

In the photo, Noel Edmunds had surprised her for one of his Christmas TV shows. She was suitably under-whelmed. "What you doin' hiding in the blankets lovey?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.