philmorris

By philmorris

Walsal End

Out of interest, we tried the recently opened Leif Tea Rooms and Piano Bar in Leam. I was glad to get out the rain. Read the menu, and the stomach and eyes held a private conversation. In this way I heard myself order their full on brekky while harbouring doubts that I ever needed it in the first place. It came in a deep bowl, full of yummy goodness, happily minus the mushrooms. Just the way it should. Brain well over-ruled.

Early afternoon I spent a while fixing a few days in Ingleton for later this month. Waterfalls 400 yards to the west and Ingleborough 4 miles to the east. Lakeland not too far either. Can't wait.

While fixing the break, the weather got a hold of itself and by late afternoon that drabby dullness was replaced with blue sky and cloud arrangements. I nipped over to Hampton. My first port of call was of all things a telephone box. Some weeks ago I read that their telephone box was Grade II listed (as is Charlecote's). So I found the box and took its picture.

Then, so close it would be foolhardy to resist the temptation, I paid a visit to the tree. In the sunshine it was reasonably warm. Out the sunshine and amid the hilltop gusts, it was properly parky. Which is why I probably spent half an hour mooching in an adjacent field of windbreaking bushes before the sun burst forth.

That breakfast lasted me ages. Next time I ate anything was at The Basement. I had thought the restaurant had closed. But on Thursday I came across it again, and recognised I had mixed up parallel streets. Last time I was at the Basement was 20+ years ago. They've still got the same jazz musician portraits on the wall that they had in the 90s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.