The Wild Wild West

By Beedoesthis

Excuses excuses

We've been plotting to visit this Michelin-starred establishment for a while, jut needed a vague excuse to go, so thankfully I had a birthday...

We started with cocktails in a private club - or rather a speedily consumed in the ten minutes we had before the taxi came punch. Then a half hour ride out to Chew Magna for our dining experience.

Pan-fried mackerel on kohlrabi with gooseberry jam to start for me, followed by venison haunch, ox tongue, blackberry and crispy parsnips, accompanied by a Spanish red. For dessert, the yoghurt pannacotta (yes it wobbled) and raspberries with a glass of Sauternes. I confess the dessert needed a touch of acidity for my liking but that's just me.

Coffee to close the evening and wait for our charabanc to take us home...

An excellent evening was had by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.