CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Chris' milestone birthday party

I worked all morning whilst Helena was away working as well. I managed quick late bath and read my surprisingly readable book, 'The Facts of Life' by Richard Milton, about whether Darwin's theory of evolution should be re-assessed, not from a religious perspective, but as a matter of practical facts. I think he may have a point.

When Helena returned home we headed off to Chris J.'s big birthday party which was being held in the Stroud Brewery just a mile up the valley. I have known hime for about thirty years off and on and was delighted to go. He has just been announced as the Green party candidate at the next general election.

The brewery's was open as was their wood pizza oven with an open invitation to all comers to create their own pizzas, which Helena kindly did for us and it was delicious. From 4pm there was an open mic session in the outdoor extension which has a canvas roof, but otherwise open to the elements. The first person on stage was John, who Helena tells me is well known locally although not to me.

When he finished the MC insisted he come back on to play Chris and her favourite song which was faintly rude but very much enjoyed. Chris in the white shirt was very happy. A good time was had by all I think. Our stamina didn't last and we got home before dark both feeling a bit tired and preparing for a bit of tv tonight but not Downton Abbey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.