Introducing Lara

Lara and I go back a long way - ten years to be precise - when I was first asked to house-, dog-, cat- and horse-sit while her owners went on holiday. They asked me back every year until the couple split up and Lara went to stay with her master, who either made other arrangements or stopped going on holiday.

She was always a joy to look after - well-behaved and affectionate - despite her traumatic start in life. She was being trained as a young gundog when she had an argument with a pheasant as a result of which she lost an eye, which put an end to her working life.

Lara has been a much-loved pet ever since, although these days she is old, deaf, arthritic and almost blind in her other eye. Her human has asked me to walk her on days, like today, when he is out for most of the day.

The pleasure was all mine.


Back to badminton this afternoon - I may suffer for it tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.