From where I'm sitting

By LoobyG

When I grow up

We spent Sunday celebrating. A day early.

6 October is our wedding anniversary, but a Monday celebration - particularly when your husband is out from 7am to 10pm - isn't a lot of fun. So instead we went to town on Sunday. Literally. London town.

I wasn't allowed to take pictures at the main event (Matilda at the Cambridge theatre) so instead here's a shot of a remarkably tame squirrel that we encountered in the morning as we ambled through the streets and parks on our way to a bookshop. (S)He was quite the little poser, and let me get several pictures, but I think this one is my favourite.

The musical was just as good as we'd suspected it would be from our repeat viewings of selected songs on YouTube. Mr G and I are huge Tim Minchin fans and have been desperate to see his songs sung live on stage for a while (even if not performed by the man himself). Little G has become a real Roald Dahl-aholic over the past couple of months, and Matilda - his first encounter with Dahl - is still one of his favourites. His joy at watching it all unfold on stage was almost as wonderful to watch as the show itself. Littler G enjoyed it too, but they were probably right when they said it was suitable for ages 6 and up - it was just a little too long, and a bit too loud in places for her.

Seven years ago I'm not sure this was quite how I'd envisaged life turning out - and seventeen years ago (when we first met at university) it would have seemed unthinkable. But I wouldn't have it any other way, and a day spent with my three favourite people was just about perfect.

And the title? Stolen from my favourite (that word again!) song from the show... Enjoy a fine rendition of it here (if you can make it past the David Walliams introduction).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.