Not a dog

Another busy busy day ahead. So I better Blip right away and then concentrate on other stuff. Positive news was that the rain does not begin before noon, so we managed our morning walk on dry land. It's grey day and I'm trying to get as many things done as possible before work, so that I can enjoy my day off tomorrow.

We are going to a party event tomorrow evening (on a school night!) which is kind of kiva, but I'm not looking forward early rise on Friday morning. I'm very sleepy during evenings and an early riser, so it will be interesting to see how I manage to stay awake tomorrow at the party. Last year they had the same event of Friday evening, which was kind of better, but I do understand why to do on school night. Finns do tend to get way too drunk when they have their hands on free booze. I'm looking forward to the dinner and the entertainment. Don't mind the drinking at all. Also the event is held in an interesting place. In the old Suvilahti power plant. It's my first visit the premises, which is really embarrassing. Since it's such an interesting and culturally active place. And quite close to us.

"The Suvilahti power plant produced gas and electricity for the city’s residents throughout much of the 20th century, after which it has produced a different type of energy in the form of culture. The operating model for the area is similar to that of the Cable Factory on the other side of town. The old industrial buildings are being renovated and rented out to various cultural actors.

Helsinki City Museum has identified Suvilahti as an important entity in terms of its architecture and significance for the city’s image. The original buildings were designed over a century ago by Selim A. Lindqvist, who was inspired in part by the Art Nouveau architecture in Vienna. The historical preservation of these buildings plays a major consideration in the renovation work. "

I think I have to try to blip tomorrow from the event. To get you guys some feeling of the place. I've never done a blip from my mobile, so I hope it works. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.