Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Misuku hills...........

Started off early this morning for a meeting in Misuku - once you leave the tar road its a pretty amazing journey! The road is dust which is normal here, but the elevation of some of it is pretty scary! The Misuku hills are quite stunningly beautiful and I did not have time to stop and take photos as we were heading to a meeting and just made it in time. Apart from not having time to stop, if I stopped I was not sure if the vehicle had a sufficient hand brake to prevent us from moving on!!! So we just kept going. This picture does not do the area justice but it gives you an idea of what it is like!

It was so lovely when we reached Katowo as I met a former student who I had not seen since 2002!

Coming back I had a full car as there is one vehicle a day which goes to this place......

Once again it made me feel very humble. In the west we take so much for granted. To get from the tar road to Misuku is only a 6 hour walk due to the terrain!! And there is no option but to walk......... I didn't see any people who were overweight, lol!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.