Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Baby loss awareness week

Went to a Sands meeting tonight where we all lit candles in honour of the babies we lost. It sometimes still feels so raw. It's still so close to the surface and it's hard to let it come out but it was important to go.

There was a lady there who hadnt been to a meeting before. They lost their baby about 3 weeks ago. I recognised that same shell shocked look, unable to comprehend what has happened to her, feeling that life will never be happy again. I wanted to reassure her that she will find a way to cope and carry on. But she will never ever forget. And she will never be the same again.

The candles looked so beautiful and these little tea lights are very symbolic to me as we always lit candles for Henry in the year after we lost him. This poem was read out;

A light of love by Sheryl Mcmahon

To some a candle is just a light,
A small flicker to light a room, burning bright

To me a candle symbolises you
My precious baby gone too soon.

To some a candle is merely a flame,
When I light a candle, I speak out your name

To some a candle is just what it says
To me a candle brings light in so many ways.

As I light my candle and speak out your name
It reveals to me that life has altered, never to be the same.

Like one tiny light that lights up a room
Your time here was brief and ended too soon.

So while some say a candle is merely a flame
My candle burns brightly and symbolises your name

For yours is a light that will never go out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.