24heuer

By 24heuer

Another good call...

After Thursday's gamble to take the bus I thought I'd risk ignoring the MetOffice once again and took the bike.
Good decision as by 6pm the rain had gone :-)
Only 1 attempt on my life during the cycle home - a taxi doing a U-turn right across my path on Waterloo Place, without signalling.
It was still daylight, I was wearing a bright yellow glow in the dark jacket and white helmet.
I even had my lights on for crying out loud and he still didn't see me!
Strangley that was the 3rd taxi incident on the way home.
The first 2 were both at the junction with Frederick St and Princes St.
I was waiting at the lights in the cycle box and a taxi was blasting its horn behind my left shoulder.
Lights were at red and I was in the right place so assumed it was nothing to do with me.
Then he started blasting his horn again - it had been raining and the low sun was reflecting off his windscreen so I couldn't see inside.
Anyway, he then started edging towards me so I moved forward and he moved right across the cycle box, put his side window down and started giving a load of abuse!
Seriously, he wasn't signalling but wanted me out of the way so he could cut across the cycle box!
So now I'm supposed to be able to read minds on my commute home.
We not very politely told each other where to go and off he went...
The lights were still at red while another cyclist and some pedestrians started to tell me that I was in the right when another taxi came up behind and did exactly the same thing!
ps. For the record, I don't have a thing against taxis or taxi drivers - most taxi drivers are great - this was just weird today :-)

pps. the view is from the office out to the west just after the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.