Reclaim The Night

Saturday is my favourite day of the week.

Dr T and I went out to my favourite café and had breakfast. I did some errands and caught up a bit more with Strictly. After some more messing about, I joined Dr T and other friends at the university for a Reclaim The Night march and rally. There was a good turnout of young people, many of them university students who had been fired up by the referendum and are now turning their energies in other fruitful directions.

I had a bit of a jolt at one moment when I remembered the first Reclaim the Night march I went on and how I am sufficiently old enough and many of the students are sufficiently young enough for me to be their parent. Oh dear! I took heart, however, in knowing that when old(er) protesters like me shuffle off, the cause will be taken up by passionate young(er) people.

And a gorilla.

We walked through some great city centre locations - the Grassmarket, Victoria Street, George IV Bridge and Chambers Street - more reminders of what a great city Edinburgh is - hopefully providing temptation for some London blippers to come up (and everyone else, too!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.