Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Teeth of the Amazon

I woke at dawn for this shot and lo and behold the clouds had cleared and I could see the sun again breaking over the jagged peaks to the East. I've gotten to calling this range "the jagged teeth". I don't know what they are called, or if they are called anything. All I do know is that they are the last great cordilleras, the last range to rise up from the Andes before dropping down into the gaping yawn of the Amazon basin.

I watched as the darkness merged into dawn and the rays of the sun reflected off the craggy ridges and creased contours of the mountains. The Earth orbited full circle again in that great cycle that we live through and take for granted every day and night. Darkness to light bathed in the glow of a monstrous star. It is no wonder many ancient people's worshipped the sun. Rise up early and watch the sun rise next chance you get. It is a revelation.

This was supposed to me my shot for my 300th blip B-day but I ran into some mistake uploading last weekend and can't seem to get it fixed now. Bummer...but oh well I'm not much for birthdays anyhow. Happy 299!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.