Fibreandfotos

By Fibreandfotos

Sunday Sew Day

These little snap bags are my daughter's first-ever sewing attempt. Despite my enjoyment of all types of sewing, she never showed any interest in taking up the hobby. In fact, I often joked to my friends that she was "allergic to sewing". Completely out of the blue, she asked me about a week ago if I would show her how to make these bags, which are really useful small carryalls that can be used for many different items. Today was the day, and she was amazingly successful for someone who had never before operated a sewing machine. Must be a chip off the old block, or something like that. She went through my extensive fabric stash to choose fabrics for future projects, and took home a sewing machine and other necessary notions. The photo is of her first two bags. I think she intends to make them for her co-workers as Christmas gifts. I was really proud of her, and I think she was pleased with her own efforts. The asian influence in her fabric selections may have something to do with being born in Japan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.