Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Buzzing again

Each bee, each flower, each drop of warm sunshine is such a treat at this time of year. Especially after a big bucketing of miserable rain.

I've been feeling out of sorts for a good few weeks now. I can't quite fathom out what it's all been about but I've felt like an elephant's been swimming between my ears and the world is busier, noisier and fidgetier than it should be.
I said to Richard I felt like I needed blinkers because I couldn't deal with the busy feeling and wanted to tune things out.
I've also had that heavy, beginnings of a virus type feeling for weeks but without any specific illness. I've battled through every day, written lists and got through each day like a machine.

Then last night I felt lighter and fell asleep more easily, and woke up this morning feeling like I was more in control of myself. I've felt I've had the energy to do what I needed to do and can think more clearly.

I've got a shed load of photos to upload here - I think I have about 4 weeks' worth missing, so I think I'll unlink my updates from facebook and twitter when I post all of those.

Today we got a load of grocery shopping done and I cleared and cleaned out the fridge. Then I made marmalade and strawberry jam with fruit I'd prepared yesterday. I tweaked the marmalade recipe by using strained crabapples to add a bit of colour and pectin. And to use up the crabapples.
(I made marmalade! And it worked! I'm so chuffed!)

I started doing a bit of gardening but after discovering broken glass in the ground and cutting my finger I lost the enthusiasm.

Probably not a particularly exciting day to the untrained eye but for me, and because the sun shone, and because I felt well, it was bloody brilliant. And because I love normal and ordinary and find it thrilling




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.