Sweets for breakfast

After work, I went to pick the kids up. I was running slightly early and Abi was still out at her sax lesson with her mum, so Dan and I went to Booths to buy what we needed for dinner. Apart from the dinner things - Quorn korma for Abi, chicken madras for me and Dan - I also needed to buy some breakfast cereal.

That's easy enough for Abi, since - despite her chronic indecision - she likes a Kellogg's Variety Pack. I guessed that Dan was going to ask for a box of Krave, which he's chosen the last couple of times we've bought cereal. I decided that it was time to be a good Dad - or at least a conscientious one - and said that he needed to choose something a bit healthier, that Krave was like having sweets for breakfast.

We quickly settled on Kellogg's Crunchy Nut. To prove my point, I looked at the nutritional information: it was virtually identical! Determined to see the matter through, I said to Dan that we weren't going to buy junk but that we'd get a healthy breakfast. "Like" I said, sensing a victory just around the corner, "Granola!" Once again we looked at the nutritional information on the box. The granola had a bit less fat and a bit more fibre. Ultimately, though, it was the same sugary rubbish.

I looked at Dan and he looked levelly back at me. "Fine", I said, "Get what you want."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.