Paul'sPix

By PaulShelley

Colin's Trainers

Hanging out with my new mates today on the bench by the duckpond. I shuffled round the corner to the shops to look for a Blip. The bench by the duckpond is a good viewpoint. I sat down next to this fellow who was wearing very bright orange Nikes. He was sipping a bottle of Smirnoff and Lemon and moved along to give me room. He was listening to his music so I didn't disturb him but got on with the job of spotting Blip opportunities.

Various office workers and shoppers yielded a few candid shots. Then another chap came by who I recognised from the local bookies next to the bookshop. They touched fists and betting man gave him banter about the bright trainers. " Blimey , you won't get knocked down by a car wearing those!" etc. Also there was much discussion about video games to which I could make zero contribution.

I was looking for an angle to join in so I started discussing horse racing. This went down quite well, although my mention of Huntingdon racecourse drew a blank with no comprehension of where it might be. " Near Cambridge" , I explained. "Oh, Oxfordshire" was the reply.

I asked my new friend how he kept the trainers so clean. "Easy", he slurred while taking another swig. "When I get home , I undo the laces and put them back in the box". I suddenly realised that my Blip was there right beside me. I established that his name was Colin and I asked if I could take a photo of the much admired trainers. He readily agreed and offered a range of poses with his feet in various positions.

I was going to post a full length shot but thought the close up was better with more detail on Colin's face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.