Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Fish by the Nile

A frustrating start when I went into the British Council today to find out there were difficulties in accessing my dropbox and yahoo email accounts because of tightened BC worldwide system security. Wish I'd known this in advance as it's what I've always used here. ALL my work materials (20 years worth!) are in dropbox and I keep some attachments in yahoo for easy access. Not good! And, of course, external devices aren't allowed. The short term workaround was to take my own laptop in, use the school's wifi to access dropbox and yahoo from there, email docs to my BC email address (which I never use as it's just another thing to clean out when I clean up and leave at the end of courses) and print them off. Aagh! Later on in the afternoon, interestingly, I did manage to access dropbox from the school computers.

All this pushed us (well, Bb!) into buying a simple printer to install in the flat. It means that I can print off single copies of the main things I need and then just photocopy at school. Poor Bb then spent the whole morning trying to get it installed, on the end of Spanish helplines for Canon (no helplines in Egypt) and following painstaking instructions step by step. However, he did it and has now got myself connected to it, as well as my colleague/flatmate for my time here!!

At the end of long, but fruitful day prepping at school, we had dinner at Seagull, a fish restaurant on the Nile a 10 min taxi tide from the flat. Good as ever, fresh fish from Alexandria, french fries and cold beer and we ended the day on a positive note! If I go into school for a few hours tomorrow I think I can have Saturday free, before starting the course on Sunday.

PS: if HB is looking in, then you'll recognise the place xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.