Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Copy Turning.

I thought I would do a quick blip to show you how I am now turning the other three legs of the stool/chair I am making.

The first leg is always relatively easy unless you are following a specific design, but in this case I had this design of the leg in my mind and just turned it.
You will have seen the first leg already in my previous blip

As you see in the shot above I am now copy turning the next leg which is still in the lathe, but I have rested against it the first leg and have marked out key points from which I will turn from. These are the lines you see directly in line with key points on the first leg. May be better in Large
so you can see the detail.
I may add no sanding has been done at all yet.
I am constantly,when turning, double checking the measurements so that they are identical to the first leg.
This is what takes the time but when finished all the legs will be exactly the same.

I hope you are not bored legless but I think you may find it interesting as to how it is done.
More blips to come when some more work has been done.

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.