Waxworks

Another day, another foray! Today one I was jointly leading. The turnout was better than we had expected 7 of us in all - not a lot, but beat our last year's total by 4. It kept pretty dry, but was windy and overcast, but those who came were treated to a feast (for the eyes) of fungi - There were even more fungi than when we went up on Thursday. As I was kept busy explaining and identifying to the best of my ability, there wasn't much time for photography, but this nice little family group of Hygrocybe laeta - the Heath Waxcap was begging to be snapped.
Someone else is leading tomorrow, but it is a foray that is always very popular, so I usually get drafted in to help. The forecast is better, so I'm looking forward to it.
That will be the last official one for 10 days, but as there is so much around, I may try to get out with my camera during the week. I might also try and find some time for a bit of birding - the winter migrants are on their way in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.