SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

East Hills

This is a rather blurred shot I'm afraid of Nicholas Barnham's 'East Hills' (prompted in response to WalkAndrewWalk's entry of a Barnham of an Unst landscape and the amazingly small world of blip!).
It was a wedding present and sits above the fireplace.
I find I recognise Barnham's work almost instantaneously when I see it ... it is so distinctive and very evocative of the Norfolk landscape (and probably of Unst too although I have never been). I have known his work since childhood and he always struck me as a wild, romantic figure who fascinated me.
My husband and I chose this because we split our honeymoon between camping in Scotland (Achiltibue) and Wells in Norfolk. We had looked across the Wells channel in winter (watching endless skeins of geese fly over) when we were planning what we would do and decided that we would set ourselves the adventure of walking to East Hills which is quite a challenge - not many get that far as it is difficult to do around the tides and not get cut off.
We did it and loved it, and I miss him more than I can say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.