Pinkpetal

By Pinkpetal

The Bike ride

As part of my cycle training Louise took me on a bike ride in the foot hills of Mount Seney.
We set off on a marked cycle route down a pedestrian precinct. "My brakes are not working Louise"I said as I hurtled through the shoppers.
"Of course the are Mum - well the back ones are - oh no I forgot to connect them" came the reply.
With reconnected brakes we made a turn up a sudden rather steep hill. Louise was at the top with 15 kilos of Sam chatting away on the back. The extremely stiff gears on this bike were opposite to my bike so by the time I had worked this out I had to walk up. These gears were not made for arthritic hands but I am sure it was good physio.
Next came the rutted stony track with huge puddles (well ponds really)
"Just ride straight through the middle Mum" she called over her shoulder.
"What in my new Musto jumper you must be joking" I could imagine wobbling in the middle of it and falling flat into the muddy water.
There were about 5 of these ponds I wondered if I should turn back, could it get worse? We had a time schedule for picking Tom up from school so no slouching.
After 16 k of fairly steep ups and some bumpy downs we made it all in one piece. The dodgy brakes worked. I am sure it must have done me good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.