MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

Yesterday's partial solar eclipse

This was a team effort- we used those paper geek glasses (see yesterday's Blip) as the filter for my friend's camera and then worked the settings to get the best shot. I have to state in full disclosure that my friend is a wiz at settings and the credit for that is all him.
I am fascinated by the cultural reaction to solar eclipses across time. Almost all of the myths are negative but there is one positive one that I found.
In Italy, there is old belief that flowers planted during a solar eclipse are brighter and more colorful than flowers planted any other time of the year. Much better than the doom of the other myths!

(And that is a sun spot in the photo- I could actually see it through the geek glasses with no magnification! Amazing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.