Eye Light

This is the dome of the Dom des Invalides, directly above Napoleon's Tomb. I could have posted the tomb itself here, a massive brown varnished monument, but this circle of gold and light suited my mood more.

Napoleon's Tomb was another spot in Paris which I'd wanted to see since the last time I was here 28.5 years ago. In fact, hubby had already seen it then, with another tour group and so it was my turn to have a 'first time' view of something. 28.5 years ago, I had walked around Paris all by myself because we had a free afternoon but there had been so much to see (still is!) that by the time I got here it was practically closing time and I had to be back at the hotel for hubby's farewell party (you see, that is how we met -- I was the tourist, he was the tour bus driver) so that there had been no more time to go in, even for a quick peep.

First read about Napoleon when I read Desiree, a novel by Annemarie Selinko, written when I wasn't even born yet, I think. That's also what got me interested in French history ... the power of books! The frustration of 28.5 years ago was enormous but finally got 'fixed' today.

After the Dom des Invalides and the Military Museum, including an extended exhibition of both world wars, hubby and I just sauntered around the Champs de Mars, then along the Seine, then a part of the Place de la Concorde, at which point we decided that we weren't going to push our luck or our muscles. We returned to the Invalides Metro station and rode back to the Montparnasse station to take our train back to Plaisir, where our car was waiting. We then drove to the Buffalo Grill restaurant near our B&B and had a couple of fantastic steaks and a royal dessert.

Tomorrow, a long drive back to The Neth awaits.

Hopefully, you've been having a good weekend! Sorry, again, for my lack of comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.