ScarletMonkey

By ScarletMonkey

Alms giving

Every morning Buddhist monks collect alms. This is usually sticky rice given by local Buddhists. It has two purposes: the monks get fed and it is good for the alms givers too as they are getting merit. In Buddhism it is believed that the more you give the richer you become, as wanting to own things will lead to suffering.

The monks go in groups from each Wat in age order. They meditate as they walk, which is obviously difficult. Due to this difficulty, it is respectful to stay silent, keep your distance if you're taking part, take photos discreetly and if you're taking part to stay lower than the monks by sitting or kneeling. I know this because I read up on the ceremony and there are also info signs all over the town. Alms giving in Luang Prabang particularly has become a tourist attraction because of the sheer number of temples and therefore monks in the town.

So I was horrified to see large groups of loud tourists arriving by bus and then tour guides or friends taking pictures right in the monks faces with flashes on. This ceremony which should be a peaceful observation of traditional life felt like a media circus and I can see why the authorities are considering stopping it as it's true purpose seems to be eroding away. We moved to a different street and it was more respectful but I found it very hard not to get wound up by others disrespect.

I am aware of course that this is slightly hypocritical, I did go to see alms giving as a tourist attraction but I followed etiquette. I guess there are ignorant tourists everywhere and there's little I can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.