... That too, is a place where you are ...

Earlier today I popped in to see Gill, vicar of 4 parishes, part-time, who wanted to be sure she was doing the right thing. I was amazed at the quantity and the quality of what she was doing, with such passion, energy and commitment. Her work in schools is amazing. What an example!

On the way back I stopped at Greensted Church, reputed to be the oldest wooden church in the world and the oldest surviving wooden building in Europe. Some timbers on show go back 1000 years, other go back to the 6thC. A 12thC crusader is buried by the door. I took a wedding here some years ago. Visiting today brought back fond memories. This is what the good folks of Greensted would like us to pray:

Lord,
as I sit in this ancient church I can feel that it is a special place.
I know you are no more in here than you are outside, or in my home or place of work, but somehow I’m made aware of you here.
Help me to use these precious moments to unlock myself and let you in, so that when I go home I shall discover that it too is a place where you are.
Amen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.