Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Hope

Little boy Reuben you've taught us oh so much. Every day with you is a blessing, stolen from the days we thought we'd never have with you. I could live with that fear every day, but I don't. Each day is a blessing; not a day to strip away the joy for worrying. What's in that?

This morning I caught you hanging up the Hope sign on your bedroom door. It had fallen on the floor. Hope can feel frail at times. Hope can fall. It needs propping up again. You may think you're holding on to the merest thread. But where there's hope, there's energy for a brighter future. I've never seen you do this before Reuben, pick it up and I know you're sending hope to your Grandad. I marvelled at you this morning darling, sometimes we have a brief moment to take it all in and are amazed, looking at your lovely little face, your soft sweet eyes. We shall send this to Grandad to make him better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.