Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Tramsheds

This morning my GP signed the medical form for my driving licence so I decided to exchange my UK licence for a Guernsey one. This has to be done by calling at their office because they capture your image; posh way of saying take your pic, for the card bit. Because I've reverted to my maiden name I also needed to change my name so armed with,, both parts of UK licence, passport for identification, deed poll for change of name, medical certificate for diabetes and RA and the application form presented myself at their office. The lady found my previous Guernsey licence on their system and registered me and photocopied my passport and deed poll but she couldn't issue a licence because they need to look at the medical certificate and decide how long the licence should be valid for ... My guess is until I'm 70 but what do I know. And they wouldn't capture my image until they decide the duration of the licence so I'll have to go back again...

But on the bright side, it's very rare that I walk that far north on the road out of town so I got some different views. I rather liked this one taken at the Red Lion. The Red Lion is the name of the area but there was also a pub there called the Red Lion, which was one of the few Guernsey pubs with 'English style' pub names. The long roof you can see is The Tramsheds, so called because that was where the Guernsey Railway Company housed their trams. Read all about trams in Guernsey here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.