Tonya's Photo Journal

By cameracrazy

Talent

Today as I stopped by to drop my grandmother off after errands, I took a picture of the bust of Christ that is hanging on the wall in her dining room. This piece of art means a lot to me because it was drawn by my grandfather who passed away 4 years ago this past November. He drew this as a project in art school soon after high school. He had incredible talent. What's most amazing about this piece of work is that it was created by a man that had a condition similar to Parkinson's Disease. He developed 'the shakes' at a very young age and was able create masterpieces while all along, his hands shook. I would watch him hold one hand with the other in an attempt to steady himself a bit. He was a joy to be around and was always laughing. The last time I saw him was when I introduced my newborn baby boy, Landon, to him. He was able to be around my other boys and watch them grow for a while and just watching his great-grandkids play was something he really enjoyed. Each time I take my Grandmother on her weekly errands, I'm still very aware that there's something important missing from her home...he is very much missed.
=======================
You can see where he signed his work on the bottom right of the art:
Reaney Friis
Dated: 10-20-36

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.