philmorris

By philmorris

Penyghent

Another 5:30am start. This time I drove over to Clapham, marched past the church clothed in scaffolding, then by the entrance and along the private path to Ingleborough cave. This was the Ingleton Estate and a track leading to Trow Gill, a path which, to the cave at least, might be accomplished in slippers. I had in mind the pinks on Whernside from yesterday and thought of the eastern face of Ingleborough as somewhere which might yield the same colouring, though truth be told, it has no eastern face to speak of.

Just beyond Trow Gill, I was still within a V shaped mini valley. Checking the time, I saw there was only 10 minutes before the sun was due up. So I left the path and tugged myself up the slope, bringing me to Clapham Bottoms, at the edge of a bowl-shaped, amphitheatre of a place, with this view to Penyghent.

The picture above is not the one I originally posted. I was unhappy with the colours and despite much effort trying to put things right, I have surrendered. So the replacement was shot with the trusty phone. At last, I can move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.